No Minister

Best Ever Indian Test Cricket Eleven

Apart from the last thirty years or so I have not known too much about Indian Cricket or its players. It is fair to say for most of their test cricketing history they were not the force that they have been since about 1990 even though they did win the 1983 ODI World Cup. Still they have produced a number of talented players and the records of those that I have listed below speak for themselves. In batting order my team is:

  1. Sunil Gavaskar
  2. Virender Sehwag
  3. Rahul Dravid
  4. Sachin Tendulker
  5. Virat Kohli
  6. Kapil Dev
  7. MS Dhoni
  8. Ravichandran Ashwin
  9. Bishen Bedi
  10. Javagal Srinith
  11. Jaspirit Bumrah

Captain would be MS Dhoni with Ravindra Jadeja 12th man.

Growing up I heard of batsmen like Vinoo Mankad, Polly Umrigar,Mohinder Armanath and others but the ones who came close to cracking this team include VVS Lakshman, Gautem Gambhir and even Sourav Ganguly who missed out because he had limitations when the ball was moving around and bouncing.

Bowling was a different issue with Erapalli Prasanna, Bhagwath Chandrasekhar, Anil Kumble in the spinners and dependable left armer Zaheer Khan and Ishant Sharma all very worthy contenders. While Ravi Shastri was a contender for the number 6 all rounder spot.

One thing that New Zealand cricket followers and supporters can be pleased about is that on the 1975/76 tour by Indian then tearaway fast bowler Richard Hadlee was given one last chance by the selectors in the third test in Wellington and he came good with 4/35 and 7/23 – his career only went ahead from there.

What changes would you make to the above team.

Written by pdm1946

March 2, 2021 at 6:17 am

Posted in Uncategorized

<span>%d</span> bloggers like this: