This year is the 80th anniversary of D-Day, the Allied invasion of Nazi-controlled Europe, starting on the beaches of Normandy, France. By the next significant anniversary of the day, in 2029, it is almost certain that there will be none of these men left.

I must admit that I’m impressed by the French remembering.

Also this.

The planes took off Sunday from Duxford, England, for the 90-minute flight to Carentan. The Normandy town was at the heart of D-Day drop zones in 1944, when paratroopers jumped in darkness into gunfire, many scattering far from their objectives. Sunday’s jumpers were from an international civilian team of parachutists, many of them former soldiers. The only woman was 61-year-old Dawna Bennett, who felt history’s force as she exited her plane into the Normandy skies.

Back in 1984 I didn’t appreciate the following speech as much as I do now, probably because I was too immersed in the general despising of America and especially President Reagan, although I thought he was okay as a President (certainly streets ahead of Carter and Mondale) and supported most of his policies.