Regular readers will know that one of our bloggers, “Adolf Finkensen“, has been battling cancer for the last six months, which includes eating lots of ice cream.

But his Son In Law has just let me know that the ice cream diet is not working:

[H]e smiled and  nodded his finger when I said I’d spoken with you and the lads from No Minister.  He always sent me blogs and usually called roaring with laughter. It meant a lot to him.

So I thought I would put up this post for anybody who wants to say a few things to him (nutters will of course be excluded), starting with those from current and former No Minister bloggers.

I walked down to the Te Haumi beach and looked out on that incredible vista that you would have seen so many times. Our thoughts and prayers from both Pam and I are with you. Thank you for the invitation to contribute to NM. It’s been an incredible journey and I wouldn’t have missed it for worlds. I envy you as you begin another stage of life’s great journey. For me the old adage that it’s only the good that die young comes into play. 😅😅

Cheers and thoughts
The Veteran

Addie you grumpy old bugger someone says you are in palliative care.  Is that an excuse to stop taking the rubbish out or do you just want to give up on the Sunday funnies? They are the highlight of my week.  We have not yet met face to face. The first email I can find in my inbox from you is nearly 15 years ago but that appears to be when you were going through a pious but irritable phase and objecting to use of the f word.

Which raises the question are you finkelstein Finkensein or some other F word if you ask some of our past no minister commentators Emoji

I will be in Adelaide around christmas.  would be lovely to have a beer.

Just for shits and giggles I bet that most of you did not know that I am closely related to the former Green MP Eugenie Sage.  Our politics differ.
Phil

Here’s that email sent to his fellow No Minister bloggers on Mon, 10 May, 2010:

Morning All

In a fit of irritation I’ve taken the liberty of deleting a comment from one Cal Richard’s whose alphabet appears to start at F and end at K.  I wonder if he is a reincarnation of Sinner.

I hope you don’t mind but I did ask him to tone it down.

Cheers
Irritable Adolf

And here’s his first post on the old No Minister site, the first post of all in fact, published on June 30, 2007 as the site was born out of the ashes of the even older Sir Humphrey blog:

Caucus Meeting

On the last day of the financial year was held the first caucus meeting of the ‘No Minister Party.’ Both left and right factions were equally represented. Nothing was agreed.

Hey Milt, I feel all funny – using the keyboard again! Many thanks for all your effort. How many hours and how much money did it take to get set up thus far?

I’ll try to give you a call on Monday.